Beastly Bones (Jackaby)

By William Ritter (author) | Format: Hardback | Rating:

9 left in stock

October 16 - October 19

Royal Mail

Shape-shifters disguise themselves as a litter of kittens and their owner is found murdered with ... Read more

Trusted by millions
Products at great prices
Vetted UK suppliers
Quick, free, delivery
Safe & secure payment

Product Details

Description

Shape-shifters disguise themselves as a litter of kittens and their owner is found murdered with a single puncture wound. Dinosaur bones from a recent dig go missing, and an unidentifiable beast starts attacking animals and people. Charlie calls on Abigail for help, and soon Abigail and Jackaby are on the hunt for a thief, monster, and a murderer.

Reviews

A 2016 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Title

"In this sequel to Jackaby (Algonquin, 2014), Ritter seamlessly presents enough backstory for newcomers to thoroughly enjoy this hybrid of historical fiction and fantasy . . . On a scale of 'one to pomegranate,' this volume is undoubtedly a pomegranate; it offers humor, adventure, mystery, gore, and romance all rolled into one well-written package. The best news? There is more to come, as Ritter sets up Jackaby and Rook's next case regarding the ephemeral Jenny, murdered many years ago." -School Library Journal, starred review

"Recommend this to readers who enjoy Doctor Who, Supernatural, Grimm, Dresden Files, Harry Potter, and, of course, Sherlock Holmes stories, and who are ready to stay up into the wee hours reading." -VOYA, starred review

"[A] fast-paced sequel to Jackaby . . . As bones go missing--and then small livestock--methodical investigation and scientific experimentation yield to madcap chases, slapstick humor, and romance. Ritter's blends--fantasy and mystery, action and tension, oddball detective and able sidekick--employ but exceed their stock elements. With one case closed but two unsolved, the well-matched, well-written duo will undoubtedly return to fight a more fearsome foe. A witty and weird adventure equal parts Sherlock and Three Stooges." -Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"The fun continues in this Holmsien follow-up to Jackaby. . . Fans of the first novel will be pleased with this entertaining sequel, rich in intrigue and imagination." -Booklist
"Jackaby's sense of humor, ever droll and capricious, shines once again in this sequel. The storytelling is just as solid and absorbing, too, even with quite the crowd-shape-shifters, rival paleontologists, an avid hunter, a livestock-pillaging predator, an intrepid journalist-and there's a bit of romance as well." -The Horn Book

"Critics laud William Ritter's Jackaby series as perfect for fans of Sherlock, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, and Supernatural - and while that's a tall order for any book, I'm happy to report that Jackaby and its sequel, Beastly Bones, more than fit the bill! Utterly charming."-Mugglenet
"Jackaby - aptly described as a mix between Sherlock and the Doctor - is in fine form with this sequel, which picks up nicely following the events of the first book. Fans will eagerly dive into his latest adventure with his assistant Abigail, as they find themselves on another mysterious and possibly magical case. The tone and atmosphere of Ritter's novels are immersive and delightful." -Novel Novice
"Jackaby was one of my stand out reads last year and when I found out there would be a series I was so excited.If you're looking for a fun read, filled with quirky characters and lots of the paranormal, you definitely need to be reading these books. Ritter tells an amazingly unique story full of action and mystery." -Fiction Fare
"I really enjoyed the plot of Beastly Bones. It was definitely fast-paced and so fun! The mysteries themselves weren't that easy to solve, and I liked that even when I thought I had everything figured out, there was another twist. I really loved the characters as well. Jackaby is still the right mix of the Tenth Doctor and Sherlock and Abigail is spunky and interesting in her own right. She doesn't stand at the sidelines nor does she attempt to follow the stereotypical expectations that others expect of her. -Read.Sleep.Repeat.
"Beastly Bones will make you smile. I found myself grinning ridiculously in public at the bits of humor in Beastly Bones. It's subtle, but very effective in breaking the serious moments. You find the humor in Jackaby's mannerisms, his interactions, and what he says (he made a rolling-your-eyes type of pun that had me snickering despite myself). It makes everything so much delightful, and I cannot stress how wonderfully timed they were. -The Novel Hermit

Author Biography

William Ritter is an Oregon author and educator. He is the proud father of the two bravest boys in the Wild Wood, and husband to the indomitable Queen of the Deep Dark. The Dire King is the fourth and final book in his acclaimed New YorkTimes bestselling Jackaby series. Visit William Ritter online at rwillritter.wordpress.com and find him on Twitter: @Willothewords.

Contents

"Some girls work in shops or sell flowers. Some girls find husbands and play house. I assist a mad detective in investigating unexplained phenomena. My name is Abigail Rook, and this is what I do."

"Recommend this to readers who enjoy Doctor Who, Supernatural, Grimm, the Dresden Files, Harry Potter, and, of course, Sherlock Holmes stories, and who are ready to stay up into the wee hours reading." -VOYA, starred review

"Fast-paced . . . As bones go missing, methodical investigation and scientific experimentation yield to madcap chases, slapstick humor, and romance." -Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Product Specifications

Format
Hardback
Publisher
Algonquin Books
Pages
295
Language
English
Series
Jackaby
Date Published
22 September 2015
Editions
First edition
Publication Place
North Carolina
Imprint
Algonquin Young Readers
ISBN
9781616203542
Contributors

William Ritter (author)

Subject(s)

Children's / Teenage fiction & true stories

Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage)

Delivery Options

Estimated delivery date Courier & service Shipping cost
October 16 - October 19 Royal Mail: 2nd Class Parcels +£0.00 (included in displayed price)

Merchant Reviews

Packaged well, arrived in perfect condition and early!!

Excellent seller, excellent book!

Very impressed with service, book looks really interesting, many thanks ☺

Arrived on time, genuine item.

Incredible, as described, arrived on time and the cards are really beautiful.

Returns Policy

DELIVERY Wordery offer FREE worldwide delivery on ALL orders. Yes that's correct, there are no postage charges on any orders with wordery.com We send all orders via Royal Mail in the UK and via priority air mail outside the UK. We will always try to send your order in as few packages as possible. Delivery Times The expected delivery time for UK delivery is 3-5 working days. RETURNS If you've changed your mind, you can return an item(s) for a full refund. Please be advised that we cannot currently exchange items. For a refund, the item(s) need to be returned: in the original undamaged condition; ideally in the original packaging. to the correct return address. within 30 days from the day you received the item(s). with a copy of your receipt. We recommend you use a registered mail service that includes insurance, as we can not give you a refund if we do not receive the item, or if it becomes damaged in transit. Also, ensure that you include details of your name, address and order number, so that Wordery can process your return as quickly as possible. What you need to do Fill in the return form, which came with your receipt. Use the return address sticker to address your item. Make sure the return form is filled in and enclosed. Post your item(s) back to us at: Wordery Returns, PO Box 582, Norwich NR7 0GB Damaged or incorrect item(s) If your item(s) have arrived damaged or if we have sent you the wrong item(s) please contact us and provide us the order number and details.

Terms and Conditions

SCOPE OF THESE TERMS These are the terms on which Wordery ("we" or "us") may supply products to the customer who places an order with us for those products ("you"). Please read these terms carefully before you submit an order to us. These terms tell you who we are, how we will provide products to you, how you (and we) may change or end the contract between you and us, what to do in the event of a problem, and other important information about your and our rights. These terms apply to the contract of sale between you and us in relation to the products you order (the "Contract"). The Contract is between you and us. The operator of any website on which our product listing is featured (the "Operator") is not a party to the Contract and is not responsible for the delivery or quality of the products you order. You hereby waive any claim which you may have against the Operator in relation to the products sold by us or otherwise in connection with the subject matter of the Contract. However, the Operator may liaise with you and us in relation to any complaints or claims you may have in relation to the delivery or quality of the products sold by us, or any other customer service issue. If you have any complaints or concerns, you should report them to us as described in the How To Contact Us section below. Nothing in these terms will affect or limit anything agreed between you and the Operator. For example, you will have agreed with the Operator terms and conditions relating to the use by you of the Operator’s website, or the use by the Operator of personal information provided by you. These are binding between you and the Operator and separate from the Contract between you and us for the sale of the relevant products.